SAC FEM Recognized Assessment List

Nominated assessment schemes are reviewed by the SAC to determine the equivalence across the 7 FEM sections (or advanced chemicals section). Equivalence is determined based on subject coverage (e.g. air emissions, water use), depth of assessment (e.g. checklist vs. in-depth technical assessment), and required skills. Final equivalence is determined by the SAC and assessments that are recognized as having FEM equivalence are added to the list and applicants can claim these as equivalent assessment experience on their application.

If you wish to have other assessments considered by SAC, please fill out the form found here:

General Environmental Assessments

Recognized Assessments
Conversion Factor
SAC Higg FEM 3.0 verification (Verifier or Observer)1
“Green To Wear” (GTW) Sustainability code0.6
Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)0.1
SGS - Environmental Conformity Assessment (ECA)0.9
Bluesign Audit1.0
Intertek TGI - Think Green Initiative0.8

Chemical Assessments

Recognized Assessments
Conversion Factor
Higg 3.0 FEM (including Level 2&3 Chemicals section)1.0
Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)0.4
Bluesign screening0.9
Intertek - Chemical Management Audit - CMA0.4